top of page
  • Writer's pictureSprint Car Challenge Tour

Sprint Car Challenge Tour round four goes to Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi

By Gary Thomas

Images courtesy of Devin M Photography

Hanford, CA…Fresno, California’s Dominic Scelzi has had a fantastic start to the 2021 season and that continued Friday night at Keller Auto Speedway, as the 24-year-old raced to his fourth career Sprint Car Challenge Tour victory.

Not only did Scelzi capture the SCCT portion of the night, but he also drove to victory in the 30-lap Kings of Thunder 410 feature to give him a sweep of the night’s action during the “Peter Murphy Classic” opener. The driver of the Scelzi Enterprises/ Whipple Superchargers No. 41 now moves into a tie for second with Rico Abreu on the all-time Sprint Car Challenge Tour win list.

At the waving of the green flag in the Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Elk Grove Ford and Abreu Vineyards main event it was Shane Golobic who impressively sliced his way to the lead from the inside of row three. A yellow with one lap complete slowed the contest though and on the restart problems occurred off the second corner. Roseville’s Colby Copeland rocketed to the outside of Golobic and the slightest contact occurred between the pair, which resulted in Golobic spinning sideways in front of the 24-car field.

Miraculously, most of the pack bearing down on Golobic sitting parked off turn two all proceeded to miss him. Copeland then became the leader and held command with High Sierra Industries Dash winner Dominic Scelzi keeping pace with him on the 3/8 mile clay oval. Scelzi took a couple looks at Copeland but the driver of the Van Lare Steering Repair No. 5V hung strong and drove the cushion of the speedway to perfection. With 13-laps complete however, Scelzi found the opening he needed and carved his way to the inside, before charging into the lead down the backstretch.

As the duo raced into turns three and four Copeland returned the favor down low but Scelzi crossed back under him to lead lap 14. After this Scelzi held a steady advantage until Copeland reeled him in as the laps wound down. The “Dominator” did not falter though, hit his marks and fended off Copeland by about a car length at the checkered. Campbell’s Bud Kaeding had a strong debut in the Mike Phulps/ Metal Works No. 56 and crossed the stripe in third, followed by Templeton’s Kaleb Montgomery, who earned his second straight top-five with SCCT.

Redding’s Chase Majdic rounded out the top-five and in doing so extended his Sprint Car Challenge Tour point lead to 14-digits at the top of the standings. Clovis wheel-man Corey Day continued to impress as well and carved his way from 18th to sixth in the feature. Foresthill’s Ryan Robinson came home seventh, with Clarksburg’s Justyn Cox in eighth, Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick in ninth and Aromas’ Justin Sanders completed the top-10. Carrick earned the Pit Stop USA Hard Charger Award after transferring out of the B-main and originally starting 22nd on the grid.

Shane Golobic earned the D&D Roofing final finisher award, while Kalib Henry was the Bullard Construction first non-transfer in the B-main. Fresno’s Steven Kent began the evening by earning the overall Bianchi Farms Fast Time Award. The Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Elk Grove Ford and Abreu Vineyards will return to action on Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend at the Marysville Raceway. The event will pay honor to late track Promoters Mel and Marlyn Hall.


Sprint Car Challenge Tour Results - 39 Entries at Keller Auto Speedway

A Feature 30 Laps

1. 41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 2. 5V-Colby Copeland[4]; 3. 56-Bud Kaeding[2]; 4. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[7]; 5. 2X-Chase Majdic[11]; 6. 41X-Corey Day[18]; 7. 14W-Ryan Robinson[10]; 8. 7C-Justyn Cox[16]; 9. 83T-Tanner Carrick[22]; 10. 35M-Justin Sanders[6]; 11. 88N-DJ Netto[15]; 12. 38B-Blake Carrick[21]; 13. 7P-Jake Andreotti[12]; 14. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[9]; 15. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[13]; 16. 2XM-Max Mittry[23]; 17. 75-Brendan Warmerdam[17]; 18. 88A-Joey Ancona[24]; 19. 33-Tucker Worth[20]; 20. 35-Sean Becker[19]; 21. 5H-Michael Faccinto[3]; 22. 7-Steven Kent[8]; 23. 28-Michael Pombo[14]; 24. 17W-Shane Golobic[5]

B Feature 12 Laps

1. 38B-Blake Carrick[2]; 2. 83T-Tanner Carrick[4]; 3. 2XM-Max Mittry[1]; 4. 88A-Joey Ancona[6]; 5. 5J-Kalib Henry[9]; 6. 98-Bryce Eames[3]; 7. 46JR-Joel Myers[5]; 8. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[11]; 9. 01-Mitchel Moles[8]; 10. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[7]; 11. 94-Greg Decaires V[14]; 12. 2-Brooklyn Holland[12]; 13. 6C-Travis Coelho[10]; 14. 5R-Ryan Rocha[18]; 15. 10F-Jared Faria[16]; 16. 33H-Eric Humphries[13]; 17. (DNS) 18-Grant Champlin; 18. (DNS) 7B-Brent Bjork

Dash 6 Laps

1. 41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 2. 56-Bud Kaeding[4]; 3. 5H-Michael Faccinto[5]; 4. 5V-Colby Copeland[3]; 5. 17W-Shane Golobic[6]; 6. 35M-Justin Sanders[7]; 7. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[8]; 8. 7-Steven Kent[2]

Heat 1 8 Laps

1. 56-Bud Kaeding[3]; 2. 2X-Chase Majdic[2]; 3. 35M-Justin Sanders[4]; 4. 88N-DJ Netto[7]; 5. 41X-Corey Day[1]; 6. 38B-Blake Carrick[5]; 7. 01-Mitchel Moles[9]; 8. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[10]; 9. 2-Brooklyn Holland[6]; 10. (DNF) 18-Grant Champlin[8]

Heat 2 8 Laps

1. 17W-Shane Golobic[1]; 2. 41-Dominic Scelzi[4]; 3. 28-Michael Pombo[3]; 4. 7C-Justyn Cox[8]; 5. 33-Tucker Worth[2]; 6. 83T-Tanner Carrick[9]; 7. 88A-Joey Ancona[5]; 8. 6C-Travis Coelho[10]; 9. 94-Greg Decaires V[6]; 10. (DNS) X1-Andy Forsberg

Heat 3 8 Laps

1. 5V-Colby Copeland[1]; 2. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[2]; 3. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[5]; 4. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[4]; 5. 35-Sean Becker[8]; 6. 2XM-Max Mittry[3]; 7. 46JR-Joel Myers[7]; 8. 5J-Kalib Henry[6]; 9. 33H-Eric Humphries[9]; 10. (DNF) 10F-Jared Faria[10]

Heat 4 8 Laps

1. 5H-Michael Faccinto[1]; 2. 14W-Ryan Robinson[2]; 3. 7P-Jake Andreotti[3]; 4. 7-Steven Kent[4]; 5. 75-Brendan Warmerdam[5]; 6. 98-Bryce Eames[7]; 7. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[9]; 8. 7B-Brent Bjork[8]; 9. 5R-Ryan Rocha[6]

Qualifying 1 1. 35M-Justin Sanders[8]; 2. 41X-Corey Day[6]; 3. 2X-Chase Majdic[2]; 4. 56-Bud Kaeding[1]; 5. 38B-Blake Carrick[4]; 6. 2-Brooklyn Holland[5]; 7. 88N-DJ Netto[10]; 8. 18-Grant Champlin[7]; 9. 01-Mitchel Moles[9]; 10. 7Z-Zane Blanchard[3]

Qualifying 2 1. 41-Dominic Scelzi[4]; 2. 17W-Shane Golobic[9]; 3. 33-Tucker Worth[10]; 4. 28-Michael Pombo[6]; 5. 88A-Joey Ancona[8]; 6. 94-Greg Decaires V[1]; 7. X1-Andy Forsberg[7]; 8. 7C-Justyn Cox[2]; 9. 83T-Tanner Carrick[5]; 10. 6C-Travis Coelho[3]

Qualifying 3 1. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[9]; 2. 5V-Colby Copeland[1]; 3. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[6]; 4. 2XM-Max Mittry[5]; 5. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[10]; 6. 5J-Kalib Henry[7]; 7. 46JR-Joel Myers[3]; 8. 35-Sean Becker[8]; 9. 33H-Eric Humphries[4]; 10. (DNS) 10F-Jared Faria

Qualifying 4 1. 7-Steven Kent[1]; 2. 5H-Michael Faccinto[2]; 3. 14W-Ryan Robinson[4]; 4. 7P-Jake Andreotti[5]; 5. 75-Brendan Warmerdam[6]; 6. 5R-Ryan Rocha[7]; 7. 98-Bryce Eames[3]; 8. 7B-Brent Bjork[8]; 9. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[9]



bottom of page