top of page
  • Writer's pictureSCCT

Shane Golobic snags 12th career SCCT victory Saturday at Antioch Speedway

Fremont’s Shane Golobic got by Penngrove’s Chase Johnson on a lap 24 restart and went on to earn his 12th career Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards triumph on Saturday at Antioch Speedway.

Golobic became the sixth different winner in seven SCCT events this season and did so aboard the potent Matt Wood Racing/ NOS Energy Drink/ Southern Pacific Farms No. 17w mount. By tallying his 12th career Sprint Car Challenge Tour victory, Golobic adds on to his all-time leading total with the series.

“Sometimes it’s better to be running in second but with all the yellows it never really allowed us to get in traffic,” Golobic commented on the front stretch. “Luckily, I was able to time the restart and stay even with Chase (Johnson) and then make the pass through three and four. I want to thank my team for all their hard work. We haven’t won as much as we’d like too so far this year, but we’ve been heating up lately and hopefully that’s a sign of things to come.”

The 35-lap main event began with High Sierra Industries Dash winner Justin Sanders climbing into the lead. He soon had to deal with a very fast Chase Johnson, however, who eventually took over the top-spot following a lap five restart. Several caution flags right as lapped traffic was coming into play created numerous opportunities at double file restarts.

Golobic was able to make the move past Sanders to claim second around lap 10, before giving chase after the leader. A lap 24 restart set up the game changing move when Golobic slipped to the inside of Johnson to assume the point. Johnson stayed within striking distance, but Golobic was mistake free out front and accepted the checkered flag.

Johnson crossed the stripe in second, followed by Sanders, SCCT point leader Justyn Cox and 16th starter Tanner Carrick rounding out the top-five. Sanders and Cox had an entertaining duel for the final spot on the podium during the later stages of the contest.

Kaleb Montgomery came home in sixth, with 19th starting Sean Becker seventh, Dylan Bloomfield eighth, Chance Grasty ninth and Brad Bumgarner completing the top-10. Becker’s run from 19th to seventh awarded him the Pit Stop USA Hard Charger Award. Bloomfield also had a nice recovery after going to the work area on the initial start and being forced to the rear of the field.

Heat race wins during the night were pocketed by Kaleb Montgomery, Chase Johnson, Justin Sanders and Mitchell Faccinto. Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi began the night by setting the Sierra Foothills Wine Services Fast Time with a lap of 13.048 around the Antioch Speedway. After that however, he had nothing but bad luck following an engine change and missing the Dash, before slowing with more issues in the feature.

The Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards returns to action on Saturday July 22nd at Chico’s Silver Dollar Speedway for the 10th annual Tyler Wolf Memorial. Tickets can be purchased ahead of time by visiting


SCCT 360 Sprints Results – Antioch Speedway July 1st – 26 entries

A Main 35 Laps

1. 17W-Shane Golobic[4]; 2. 28-Chase Johnson[2]; 3. 4SA-Justin Sanders[1]; 4. 42X-Justyn Cox[10]; 5. 83T-Tanner Carrick[16]; 6. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[3]; 7. 35-Sean Becker[19]; 8. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[12]; 9. 1-Chance Grasty[17]; 10. 88-Brad Bumgarner[13]; 11. 9L-Luke Hayes[14]; 12. 12J-John Clark[9]; 13. 10-Dominic Gorden[11]; 14. 12R-Mitchell Faccinto[7]; 15. 5V-Tim Kaeding[18]; 16. 38-Colby Johnson[5]; 17. 43-Bradley Terrell[22]; 18. 87P-Jacob Tuttle[24]; 19. 222-Wyatt VanLare[21]; 20. 93-Stephen Ingraham[20]; 21. 7W-Dennis Scherer[23]; 22. 88A-Joey Ancona[15]; 23. 71W-Mike Wasina Jr[6]; 24. 41-Dominic Scelzi[8]

Dash 6 Laps

1. 4SA-Justin Sanders[2]; 2. 28-Chase Johnson[3]; 3. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[6]; 4. 17W-Shane Golobic[5]; 5. 38-Colby Johnson[8]; 6. 71W-Mike Wasina Jr[7]; 7. (DNS) 12R-Mitchell Faccinto; 8. (DNS) 41-Dominic Scelzi

Heat 1 10 Laps

1. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[1]; 2. 12J-John Clark[2]; 3. 88-Brad Bumgarner[3]; 4. 38-Colby Johnson[4]; 5. 1-Chance Grasty[5]; 6. 222-Wyatt VanLare[6]; 7. (DNS) 12-Jarrett Soares

Heat 2 10 Laps

1. 28-Chase Johnson[1]; 2. 42X-Justyn Cox[3]; 3. 71W-Mike Wasina Jr[4]; 4. 83T-Tanner Carrick[5]; 5. 93-Stephen Ingraham[6]; 6. 87P-Jacob Tuttle[7]; 7. (DNF) 21M-Michael Ing[2]

Heat 3 10 Laps

1. 4SA-Justin Sanders[1]; 2. 41-Dominic Scelzi[4]; 3. 10-Dominic Gorden[3]; 4. 9L-Luke Hayes[2]; 5. 5V-Tim Kaeding[5]; 6. 7W-Dennis Scherer[6]

Heat 4 10 Laps

1. 12R-Mitchell Faccinto[1]; 2. 17W-Shane Golobic[4]; 3. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[3]; 4. 88A-Joey Ancona[2]; 5. 35-Sean Becker[5]; 6. 43-Bradley Terrell[6]

Qualifying 1

1. 38-Colby Johnson, 00:13.198[1]; 2. 3-Kaleb Montgomery, 00:13.333[4]; 3. 12J-John Clark, 00:13.371[7]; 4. 88-Brad Bumgarner, 00:13.381[3]; 5. 1-Chance Grasty, 00:13.396[5]; 6. 222-Wyatt VanLare, 00:13.447[6]; 7. 12-Jarrett Soares, 00:14.435[2]

Qualifying 2

1. 71W-Mike Wasina Jr, 00:13.349[3]; 2. 28-Chase Johnson, 00:13.366[6]; 3. 21M-Michael Ing, 00:13.532[4]; 4. 42X-Justyn Cox, 00:13.604[2]; 5. 83T-Tanner Carrick, 00:13.695[7]; 6. 93-Stephen Ingraham, 00:13.727[1]; 7. 87P-Jacob Tuttle, 00:13.744[5]

Qualifying 3

1. 41-Dominic Scelzi, 00:13.048[1]; 2. 4SA-Justin Sanders, 00:13.053[3]; 3. 9L-Luke Hayes, 00:13.144[2]; 4. 10-Dominic Gorden, 00:13.175[6]; 5. 5V-Tim Kaeding, 00:13.400[4]; 6. 7W-Dennis Scherer, 00:13.497[5]

Qualifying 4

1. 17W-Shane Golobic, 00:13.190[5]; 2. 12R-Mitchell Faccinto, 00:13.192[1]; 3. 88A-Joey Ancona, 00:13.343[6]; 4. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield, 00:13.359[3]; 5. 35-Sean Becker, 00:13.406[4]; 6. 43-Bradley Terrell, 00:13.466[2]

Story by Gary Thomas. Images courtesy of Devin M Photography



bottom of page