top of page
  • Writer's pictureSprint Car Challenge Tour

Shane Golobic opens Gold Cup in victory lane

Shane Golobic races to 11th career SCCT win to open Gold Cup 68

By Gary Thomas

Chico, CA…Fremont’s Shane Golobic has been as hot as any driver in California the last few weeks and added another victory on Wednesday night, by picking up the Sprint Car Challenge Tour sanctioned “Pacific Sprint Cup” at Silver Dollar Speedway.

Sharing victory lane with Golobic on Wednesday was San Jose throttle masher Shawn Jones, who earned his first Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour triumph of the season.

The 30-lap SCCT feature began with 15-year-old Chance Grasty jumping into the lead. The Suisun City youngster held a steady lead out front as the action was hot and heavy behind him. Elk Grove’s Kyle Larson had spun out on the original attempt and many eyes were turned his way, with the 2-time Gold Cup champ blasting his way through the field. Grasty led the first laps of his career with the Sprint Car Challenge Tour but when traffic came into play it gave Max Mittry and Golobic a chance to close.

On lap 13 Mittry carved his way past Grasty and brought Golobic along for second. The racing continued to keep fans on the edge of their seats with side-by-side action all through the field. Larson ended up cracking into the top-five on lap 20 as he found the high side to his liking. Golobic was also able to make his way by Mittry with 21 laps complete to snag the lead that he would never relinquish. The driver of the Matt Wood Racing/ NOS Energy Drink No. 17w accepted the checkered flag for his 11th career Sprint Car Challenge Tour win.

Larson continued his charge as the laps wound down and got past Mittry just before the finish to end up second. Mittry crossed the stripe in third to earn his first ever SCCT podium. Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick and Grasty rounded out the top-five. Completing the top-10 were Joel Myers Jr., Landon Brooks, Michael Faccinto, Pit Stop USA Hard Charger Tim Kaeding and Sean Becker.

Kyle Larson began the evening by earning the Bianchi Farms Fast Time Award by touring the bullring in 12.272 seconds. He went home with $800 total courtesy extra money from Joey and Joelle Carr.

SCCT 360 Sprints - 32 Entries

A Feature 30 Laps

1. 17W-Shane Golobic[4]; 2. 57-Kyle Larson[5]; 3. 2XM-Max Mittry[3]; 4. 83T-Tanner Carrick[9]; 5. 1-Chance Grasty[1]; 6. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[6]; 7. 5V-Landon Brooks[2]; 8. X1-Michael Faccinto[10]; 9. 42X-Tim Kaeding[24]; 10. 83V-Sean Becker[17]; 11. 28-Chase Johnson[16]; 12. 14W-Ryan Robinson[13]; 13. 33-Dylan Bloomfield[14]; 14. 38B-Blake Carrick[15]; 15. 9L-Luke Hayes[11]; 16. 92-Andy Forsberg[12]; 17. 21-Shane Hopkins[18]; 18. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[23]; 19. 21X-Gauge Garcia[22]; 20. 94X-Steel Powell[19]; 21. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[21]; 22. 88N-DJ Netto[7]; 23. 7C-Kaleb Montgomery[8]; 24. 8JR-Brian McGahan Jr[20]

B Feature 12 Laps

1. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[2]; 2. 21X-Gauge Garcia[1]; 3. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[4]; 4. 42X-Tim Kaeding[7]; 5. 75-Tony Gomes[9]; 6. 78-Bret Barney[6]; 7. 77-Ryan Lippincott[3]; 8. 15-Cody Key[5]; 9. 5-Kenny Wanderstadt[8]

Dash 6 Laps

1. 1-Chance Grasty[2]; 2. 5V-Landon Brooks[1]; 3. 2XM-Max Mittry[3]; 4. 17W-Shane Golobic[4]; 5. 57-Kyle Larson[6]; 6. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[5]; 7. 88N-DJ Netto[8]; 8. 7C-Kaleb Montgomery[7]

Heat 1 8 Laps

1. 17W-Shane Golobic[2]; 2. 1-Chance Grasty[4]; 3. 9L-Luke Hayes[3]; 4. 38B-Blake Carrick[1]; 5. 94X-Steel Powell[6]; 6. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[5]; 7. 42X-Tim Kaeding[7]; 8. 33H-Eric Humphries[8]

Heat 2 8 Laps

1. 7C-Kaleb Montgomery[2]; 2. X1-Michael Faccinto[1]; 3. 5V-Landon Brooks[4]; 4. 28-Chase Johnson[3]; 5. 21-Shane Hopkins[5]; 6. 77-Ryan Lippincott[6]; 7. 5-Kenny Wanderstadt[7]

Heat 3 8 Laps

1. 2XM-Max Mittry[2]; 2. 83T-Tanner Carrick[1]; 3. 57-Kyle Larson[4]; 4. 14W-Ryan Robinson[3]; 5. 83V-Sean Becker[5]; 6. 21X-Gauge Garcia[7]; 7. 15-Cody Key[6]

Heat 4 8 Laps

1. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[1]; 2. 88N-DJ Netto[4]; 3. 92-Andy Forsberg[6]; 4. 33-Dylan Bloomfield[3]; 5. 8JR-Brian McGahan Jr[7]; 6. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[8]; 7. 78-Bret Barney[5]; 8. 75-Tony Gomes[2]

Qualifying 1

1. 1-Chance Grasty, 00:12.522[3]; 2. 38B-Blake Carrick, 00:12.553[5]; 3. 17W-Shane Golobic, 00:12.566[4]; 4. 9L-Luke Hayes, 00:12.606[6]; 5. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez, 00:12.634[7]; 6. 94X-Steel Powell, 00:12.730[8]; 7. 42X-Tim Kaeding, 00:12.757[2]; 8. 33H-Eric Humphries, 00:12.897[1]

Qualifying 2

1. 5V-Landon Brooks, 00:12.348[6]; 2. X1-Michael Faccinto, 00:12.402[3]; 3. 7C-Kaleb Montgomery, 00:12.572[8]; 4. 28-Chase Johnson, 00:12.698[7]; 5. 21-Shane Hopkins, 00:12.704[1]; 6. 77-Ryan Lippincott, 00:12.779[4]; 7. 5-Kenny Wanderstadt, 00:12.872[5]

Qualifying 3

1. 57-Kyle Larson, 00:12.272[7]; 2. 83T-Tanner Carrick, 00:12.299[2]; 3. 2XM-Max Mittry, 00:12.411[3]; 4. 14W-Ryan Robinson, 00:12.446[6]; 5. 83V-Sean Becker, 00:12.490[5]; 6. 15-Cody Key, 00:12.551[1]; 7. 21X-Gauge Garcia, 00:12.596[4]; 8. 4SA-Justin Sanders, 00:12.596[8]

Qualifying 4

1. 88N-DJ Netto, 00:12.349[2]; 2. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr, 00:12.438[8]; 3. 75-Tony Gomes, 00:12.465[3]; 4. 33-Dylan Bloomfield, 00:12.491[6]; 5. 78-Bret Barney, 00:12.591[1]; 6. 92-Andy Forsberg, 00:12.607[4]; 7. 8JR-Brian McGahan Jr, 00:12.798[5]; 8. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez, 00:12.938[7]

The Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour provided thrills as usual in their 25-lap main event. Multiple time series champion Shawn Jones has put together a consistent year and finally earned his first tour victory of 2022. Current Hunt Tour point leader Jake Morgan came home in second followed by a hard charging Daniel Whitley, Jarrett Soares and Nick Larson. Finishing sixth through 10th were Josh Young, Heath Holdsclaw, Eathon Lanfri, Scott Clough and Anthony Snow.

Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprints - 20 Entries

A Feature 25 Laps

1. 14-Shawn Jones[1]; 2. 7M-Jake Morgan[4]; 3. 3T-Daniel Whitley[10]; 4. 12-Jarrett Soares[3]; 5. 24N-Nick Larson[11]; 6. 7EJ-Josh Young[8]; 7. 33-Heath Holdsclaw[15]; 8. 31P-Eathon Lanfri[18]; 9. 60-Scott Clough[17]; 10. 17-Anthony Snow[9]; 11. 151-Eric Hopkins[7]; 12. 7-Trey Walters[19]; 13. 79-Mark Hanson[12]; 14. 98Z-Jordan Garretson[20]; 15. 17M-Evan Gularte[13]; 16. 16-Nathan Johnson[14]; 17. 2STX-Brent Steck[6]; 18. 51-Shane Hopkins[2]; 19. 3-Nick Robfogel[5]; 20. 121-Brian Slubik[16]

The 68th Gold Cup Race of Champions continues tonight with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Cars invading the Silver Dollar Speedway.

Image courtesy of Devin M Photography



bottom of page