top of page
  • By Gary Thomas

Scelzi Wins Race/ Hirst wins SCCT Championship

Fresno's Dominic Scelzi took home $6100 by winning the Tribute to Gary Patterson dash and main event last night at the Stockton Dirt Track. It marked his second Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards victory of the season to go along with an $11,000 score in June at Calistoga Speedway.

Fremont's Shane Golobic, inaugural SCCT champion Kyle Hirst of Paradise, Roseville's Willie Croft and Clarksburg's Justyn Cox rounded out the top-five in the feature. 41 cars competed during the final night of action with Shane Golobic setting a new 360 track record in qualifying by clocking a 13.134, earning his 4th LRB, Inc/ ADCO Driveline & Custom Exhaust fast time award of the season.


Final top-15 in Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards driver and owner standings for 2017. These drivers and teams will take part in the over $60,000 championship fund payout at the January 6 awards banquet in Jackson.

Driver points

1. Kyle Hirst 2. Willie Croft 3. Ryan Bernal 4. Mitchell Faccinto 5. Buddy Kofoid 6. Andy Gregg 7. Steven Tiner 8. Mason Moore 9. Cory Eliason 10. Colby Copeland 11. Shane Golobic 12. Justyn Cox 13. Tony Gualda 14. DJ Netto 15. Cody Lamar

Owner points

1. Roth Motorsports 83 2. Willie Croft 29 3. Rod Tiner Racing 83sa 4. Stan Greenberg 37 5. C&M Motorsports 7c 6. Mike Phulps 56 7. Guts Racing 16 8. Steven Tiner 94 9. Friends & Family Racing X1 10. Friends & Family Racing X1JR 11. Dan Simpson Racing 4s 12. Keith Day 22 13. Cox Racing 31c 14. Rick Lamar 9L 15. John Golobic 57

RCM Design Photo.

bottom of page