top of page
  • By Gary Thomas

Golobic becomes 8th winner in 10 SCCT races this season

Shane Golobic becomes eighth winner in 10 Sprint Car Challenge Tour races this season on Saturday in Fernley


Fernley, Nevada – Reigning Trophy Cup champion Shane Golobic got around young Buddy Kofoid early in the feature and went on to claim his first Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards win of the season on Saturday at Fernley 95A Speedway.

The Fremont driver becomes the eighth different winner in 10 tour races this season and came during the only visit this season to the state of Nevada. The victory came aboard the familiar Keith Day Trucking/ Elk Grove Ford No. 22 machine.

“It feels great to finally get a Sprint Car Challenge Tour win this season,” Golobic commented on the front stretch. “The track definitely came in better than we had thought early in the night. I want to thank all my guys for their support and hard work and all our partners. This win is dedicated to our buddy Jeff who does so much for us. He’s going through some stuff right now so I’m glad we could get a win for him.”

At the waving of the green flag in the 35-lap feature Dash winner Buddy Kofoid jumped into the lead, before Golobic carved his way under once lapped traffic came into play.

The A-main ultimately went 33-laps non-stop until Roseville’s Colby Copeland slowed with a flat tire. One more yellow flew on lap 34, but nothing could slow the fast moving Golobic, who took the checkered flag by nearly two-seconds back to runner up Kofoid.

Current Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards point leader Kyle Hirst came home third after pressuring Kofoid over the closing laps. The Paradise resident has now earned eight podium finishes in 10 races. Kingsburg’s Cory Eliason and Clarksburg’s Justyn Cox rounded out the top-five.

The remainder of the top-10 was comprised of Visalia’s Steven Tiner, Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto, Roseville’s Willie Croft, Placerville’s Andy Gregg and Hollister’s Ryan Bernal. Gregg earned the Pit Stop USA Hard Charger Award after starting outside row six.

The evenings Finley Farms B-main was picked off by Mitchell Faccinto, while the Dash as noted was captured by Buddy Kofoid. All Star Performance heat race one went to Justyn Cox, with A.R.T Speed Equipment heat race two going to Ryan Robinson, BR Motorsports heat race three going to Willie Croft and King Racing Products heat race four going to Cory Eliason.

Shane Golobic opened the night by setting the LRB Inc./ ADCO Driveline and Custom Exhaust fast time by clocking a 14.658 around the Fernley oval.

With Golobic and the 22 team also not being full-time with the Sprint Car Challenge Tour, the $500 Kyle Larson Racing Bonus Money carries over into championship night at the Stockton Dirt Track on November 4. The 34th annual Tribute to Gary Patterson will now pay $4500-to-win the main event.

The Elk Grove Ford Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Abreu Vineyards will have a few weeks off before resuming action with a double header weekend, beginning at the Placerville Speedway on Friday August 25, followed by the Salute to LeRoy Van Conett at the Stockton Dirt Track on Saturday August 26. More info can be found at

Photos courtesy of RCM Design

bottom of page