top of page
  • Writer's pictureSprint Car Challenge Tour

Corey Day wins the Cotton Classic

Updated: Oct 10, 2022

Corey Day adds the Cotton Classic to growing resume in California

Hanford, CA…Clovis, California’s Corey Day captured an entertaining Cotton Classic on Friday at Keller Auto Speedway, scooping up his second Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Elk Grove Ford and Abreu Vineyards win of the season.

The 16-year-old throttle masher was one of four different leaders in the main event and claimed victory aboard the Meyers Constructors No. 14 machine.

Fresno’s Dominic Scelzi claimed the High Sierra Industries Dash and jumped into the lead at the waving of the Ed Entz green flag in the 35-lap finale. He quickly had company in the form of San Jose’s Tim Kaeding, who was aboard the Works Limited No. 57 during the night. TK ran his customary high line and shot to the lead after a handful of laps.

Hanford’s DJ Netto then made his presence known going from third to the top spot on lap six.

A well-groomed racing surface gave drivers multiple different lines to use in the feature, as fans certainly got their monies worth on this night. Corey Day had been ripping around the top side and charged past Netto for the lead on lap 11. With 17 circuits down Netto then returned the favor, only to have Day get it right back moments later. Netto kept him within sights until the laps started to wind down and Day kicked it into overdrive.

The youngster eventually accepted the checkered flag to add the Cotton Classic to his list of prestigious wins this year. In June, Day also tallied triumphs at the Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial in Placerville and the Pombo-Sargent Classic in Watsonville.

Netto crossed the stripe in second to continue his ultra-consistent campaign with the Sprint Car Challenge Tour. In six starts he has brought home four top-five efforts. Scelzi rounded out the podium, while Tim Kaeding and 14th starter Justin Sanders completed the top-five. Finishing sixth through 10th in the Cotton Classic main event were Shane Golobic, Sean Watts, Tony Gomes, Pit Stop USA Hard Charger Chase Johnson and Joel Myers Jr.

A total of 43 cars competed at the penultimate round of the season for the Sprint Car Challenge Tour presented by Elk Grove Ford and Abreu Vineyards. Hanford’s Mitchell Faccinto began the evening by earning the Bianchi Farms Fast Time Award with a lap of 13.948 around the 3/8 mile clay oval.

SCCT will now get set to cap the 2022 season at the Stockton Dirt Track on Saturday November 5th during the annual Tribute to Gary Patterson

SCCT Results- Keller Auto Speedway

43 Entries

A Feature 35 Laps

1. 14-Corey Day[5]; 2. 88N-DJ Netto[3]; 3. 41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 4. 57-Tim Kaeding[2]; 5. 2X-Justin Sanders[14]; 6. 17W-Shane Golobic[11]; 7. 88W-Sean Watts[9]; 8. 75-Tony Gomes[4]; 9. 28-Chase Johnson[19]; 10. 46JR-Joel Myers[16]; 11. 2K-Kaleb Montgomery[8]; 12. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[12]; 13. 92-Andy Forsberg[6]; 14. 12B-Dawson Faria[24]; 15. 2-Brooklyn Holland[17]; 16. X1-Michael Faccinto[21]; 17. 33-Dylan Bloomfield[18]; 18. 97-Ryan Robinson[13]; 19. 18-Grant Champlin[23]; 20. 115-Nick Parker[7]; 21. (DNF) 0-Jonathan Allard[15]; 22. (DNF) 69-Bud Kaeding[10]; 23. (DNF) 32-Caden Sarale[20]; 24. (DNF) 21-Mitchell Faccinto[22]B

B Feature 12 Laps

1. X1-Michael Faccinto[1]; 2. 21-Mitchell Faccinto[5]; 3. 18-Grant Champlin[4]; 4. 12B-Dawson Faria[8]; 5. 9-Dustin Freitas[2]; 6. 38N-Kyle Rasmussen[15]; 7. 2XM-Max Mittry[10]; 8. 21X-Gauge Garcia[7]; 9. 9L-Luke Hayes[13]; 10. 94-Greg Decaires V[11]; 11. 36-Craig Stidham[18]; 12. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[14]; 13. 5D-Connor Danell[6]; 14. 15-Cody Key; 15. 6C-Travis Coelho[12]; 16. 88K-Koen Shaw[17]; 17. 4-Jake Hodges[19]; 18. 63D-Jon De Wees[16]; 19. 51-Brody Fuson; 20. (DNF) 72W-Kurt Nelson[3]; 21. (DNF) 10F-Jared Faria[9]

Dash 4 Laps

1. 41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 2. 57-Tim Kaeding[2]; 3. 88N-DJ Netto[6]; 4. 75-Tony Gomes[3]; 5. 14-Corey Day[7]; 6. 92-Andy Forsberg[5]; 7. 115-Nick Parker[8]; 8. 2K-Kaleb Montgomery[4]

Heat 1 8 Laps

1. 88N-DJ Netto[2]; 2. 69-Bud Kaeding[7]; 3. 2K-Kaleb Montgomery[4]; 4. 2X-Justin Sanders[5]; 5. 33-Dylan Bloomfield[8]; 6. 72W-Kurt Nelson[10]; 7. 5D-Connor Danell[9]; 8. 10F-Jared Faria[6]; 9. 9L-Luke Hayes[3]; 10. (DNF) 7P-Jake Andreotti[1]

Heat 2 8 Laps

1.115-Nick Parker[2]; 2. 88W-Sean Watts[1]; 3. 97-Ryan Robinson[6]; 4. 75-Tony Gomes[4]; 5. 32-Caden Sarale[8]; 6. 9-Dustin Freitas[3]; 7. 21X-Gauge Garcia[7]; 8. 94-Greg Decaires V[10]; 9. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[9]; 10. 15-Cody Key[11]; 11. 88K-Koen Shaw[5]

Heat 3 8 Laps

1.57-Tim Kaeding[1]; 2. 92-Andy Forsberg[2]; 3. 17W-Shane Golobic[5]; 4. 0-Jonathan Allard[7]; 5. 2-Brooklyn Holland[3]; 6. X1-Michael Faccinto[6]; 7. 21-Mitchell Faccinto[4]; 8. 2XM-Max Mittry[8]; 9. 63D-Jon De Wees[11]; 10. 51-Brody Fuson[10]; 11. 36-Craig Stidham[9]

Heat 4 8 Laps

1. 14-Corey Day[1]; 2. 41-Dominic Scelzi[4]; 3. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[2]; 4. 46JR-Joel Myers[3]; 5. 28-Chase Johnson[5]; 6. 18-Grant Champlin[6]; 7. 12B-Dawson Faria[11]; 8. 6C-Travis Coelho[7]; 9. 38N-Kyle Rasmussen[8]; 10. 5R-Ryan Rocha[9]; 11. 4-Jake Hodges[10]

Qualifying 1 2 Laps

1. 2K-Kaleb Montgomery, 00:13.951[3]; 2. 7P-Jake Andreotti, 00:13.978[4]; 3. 88N-DJ Netto, 00:14.093[8]; 4. 9L-Luke Hayes, 00:14.125[9]; 5. 2X-Justin Sanders, 00:14.172[1]; 6. 10F-Jared Faria, 00:14.175[5]; 7. 69-Bud Kaeding, 00:14.234[10]; 8. 33-Dylan Bloomfield, 00:14.282[7]; 9. 5D-Connor Danell, 00:14.319[2]; 10. 72W-Kurt Nelson, 00:14.414[6]

Qualifying 2 2 Laps

1. 75-Tony Gomes, 00:14.147[3]; 2. 88W-Sean Watts, 00:14.230[9]; 3. 115-Nick Parker, 00:14.303[4]; 4. 9-Dustin Freitas, 00:14.315[8]; 5. 88K-Koen Shaw, 00:14.380[6]; 6. 97-Ryan Robinson, 00:14.389[11]; 7. 21X-Gauge Garcia, 00:14.411[7]; 8. 32-Caden Sarale, 00:14.470[5]; 9. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez, 00:14.553[2]; 10. 94-Greg Decaires V, 00:14.579[1]; 11. 15-Cody Key, 00:14.680[10]

Qualifying 3 2 Laps

1. 21-Mitchell Faccinto[3]; 2. 57-Tim Kaeding[9]; 3. 92-Andy Forsberg[1]; 4. 2-Brooklyn Holland[8]; 5. 17W-Shane Golobic[5]; 6. X1-Michael Faccinto[4]; 7. 0-Jonathan Allard[6]; 8. 2XM-Max Mittry[7]; 9. 36-Craig Stidham[2]; 10. 51-Brody Fuson[11]; 11. 63D-Jon De Wees[10]

Qualifying 4 2 Laps

1.41-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 2. 14-Corey Day[4]; 3. 67G-Grant Duinkerken[2]; 4. 46JR-Joel Myers[5]; 5. 28-Chase Johnson[9]; 6. 18-Grant Champlin[11]; 7. 6C-Travis Coelho[8]; 8. 38N-Kyle Rasmussen[10]; 9. 5R-Ryan Rocha[6]; 10. 4-Jake Hodges[3]; 11. 12B-Dawson Faria[7]

Images courtesy of Paul Trevino Photos



bottom of page